Los Baños, Laguna – The Department of Environment and Natural Resources – Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau (ERDB) awarded employees during the year-end assessment via Zoom on December 17, 2021.

ERDB PRAISE committee also awarded certificate of appreciation to Luisito Arcillas, Ma. Sheila Dequina, Aaron Abel Banano, Cheriwinkle Lego, Janine Baguhin, Russel Olan, Nelson Levi Lantican, Mark Anthony Gabales, Maria Aurora Jimenez, Benjamin Beltran, and Clarise Apolinar, Mhar Loquez,  Clivene Toctocan, Dorina Kipa-en, Rey Abadiano, Diego Montesclaros, Allan Peña, Rafael Averion, Jonesca Joy Bautista, Marybeth Jomao-as, Ernesto Patayon, Mar Loquez, Lilibeth Caballeron, and Florentina Ichon. They are part of  COVID-19 Prevention and Mitigation Team that ensured the health and safety of all employees amidst COVID pandemic.

The employees who finished their postgraduate studies were also recognized as part of the “Sikap Aral Award”. The recipients were the Alvin Angelo Salting, MS Soil Science at the University of Southeastern Philippines.

The Loyalty Award was also given to Eduardo Tolentino, 45 years of service, and Maria Theresa Delos Reyes, 44 years of service as the employee with highest length of government service at the Bureau.

A Special Citation award was also given to Rejaynil Valdez for representing ERDB and being selected as one of the participants for the ASEAN Young Climate Leaders Programme, Janine Baguhin for being the top performer in the 2021 Sylvatrop Writeshop, Irish Azucena for being awarded as the 4th placer during the Environment and Natural Resources Academy Basic Course Batch CY 2021, Gregorio E. Santos Jr. as the lone recipient of Kapayapaan Award during the celebration of Armed Forces of the Philippines’ founding anniversary, and Dr. Jose Alan Castillo for representing ERDB and winning the 2021 Elvira O. Tan Awards for Outstanding Published Paper in Natural Resources and Environment Category.

The Research Publication Award for Sylvatrop, Canopy, and RISE were also awarded to recognize the efforts of all researchers who are committed in publishing ENR-related information.

For Sylvatrop, the awards were given to Minda Odsey and Anthony Victor Lopez of Watershed and Water Resource Research Development and Extension Center (WWRRDEC) for publishing their study entitled “Water user free for Busol Forest Reserve protection and management in Baguio City, Philippines”. The team of Engr. Reynaldo Lanuza, Chona Tura, Bruno Carreon, Anselmo Aurestila, and Abegail Fortich and Chona M. Tura and Dr. Alicia Lustica of Coastal Resources and Ecotourism Research Development and Extension Center (CRERDEC) also received the same award for their study entitled “Carrying Capacity Assessment of Nature-based Ecotourism in Magsaysay Park and Logarita Spring, Riverdale, Bilar, Bohol, Philippines: The Integration of Carrying Capacity and Vulnerability Assessment” and “Tourism Carrying Capacity of Balinsasayao Twin Lakes Natural Park (BTLNP) in Enrique Villanueva, Sibulan, Negros Oriental, Philippines” simultaneously.

For CANOPY, the Research Publication Award were awarded to Estrella Patrimonio for the article “Forecasting of Bark Beetle in Benguet Pine Forests”; Ma. Vienna Austria, Myline Aparente, and Medelyn Bumagat for the article “Empowering the Women and Men of Barangay Bucal, Magdalena, Laguna”; and Dr. Simplicia Pasicolan, Veronica Mercado, Ma. Kristina Orpia, Yrah Joy Panizales for the article “Urban Wetland as Waterbird Sanctuary”. It was presented by Dr. Marilyn Lalican, member of PRAISE committee, Gender and Development Focal Point, and Chief of Laboratory and Experimental Services Division (LESD).

For RISE, the following received the awards: For. Romana Mauricio and For. Ricky Florindo for “Kalumpand and Piuhung” and “Mangkono”.

For. Mayumi Quintos-Natividad, Chair of the PRAISE Committee and ERDB’s Assistant Director awarded the Urban and Biodiversity Research, Development and Extension Center (UBRDEC) for being the Research Center of ERDB with the highest number of articles prepared and submitted to CANOPY International. CRERDEC received the award for being the research unit of ERDB with the highest number of peer-reviewed studies prepared and submitted to Sylvatrop.

UERD and WWRRDEC received the most responsive award for the RDEC and technical division respectively since they have the highest number of technical assistance rendered to ERDB clients with good satisfaction ratings. AFMD and CRERDEC also received the best delivery unit since they have the highest budget utilization rate in the Bureau.

This is the 2nd ERDB Annual Awards conducted via Zoom. The goal of the activity is to recognize the remarkable efforts of the employees in fulfilling ERDB’s mandate as well as pursuing self development.