Nine contestants from ERDB took the challenge in wearing gowns made from recyclable materials during the ERDB’s “Rampasura 2018” competition held on March 19, 2018 at the ERDB auditorium. The ERDBGADFPS (ERDB Gender and Development Focal Point System) headed by Dr. Marilyn Q. Landicho spearheaded the event as part of the activities for the month-long celebration of ERDB Women’s Month 2018. Dr. Lynlei L. Pintor conceptualized the activity.

Ms. Florita E. Siapno delivered the welcome remarks while OIC Asst. Director Bighani M. Manipula delivered the inspirational message. He said, “In here, we are displaying our ingenuity in making things useful in the environment.” The Director congratulated those who conceptualized and organized the activity.

The Board of Judges were the former ERDBGAD Focal Person and retired Forester Monnette S. Santos; retired Forester Rosalinda S. Reaviles; and Ms. Karen L. Mercado, GAD Focal Point of the LGU of Los Baños, Laguna and Bb. Los Baños organizer.

Mr. Beinrich Zuñiga of the Coastal Zone and Freshwater Ecosystems Research Division (CZFERD) serenaded the contestants while Ms. Donnabel Alpedes of the Forest Ecosystem Research Division (FERD) was the emcee during the program.

The criteria for judging is 40% number of recyclable materials used, 20% creativity, 20% originality, 10% stage presence and poise and 10% visual impact.

Ms. Adreana S. Remo of the Technology Transfer Division (TTD) won the title “Rampasura Queen 2018” and got P5,000 cash prize. Ms. Karen Fortus of the Forest Ecosystem Research Division (FERD) emerged as 1st runner-up with P4,000 while Ms. Jamella M. de Castro of the Coastal Zone and Freshwater Ecosystems Research division (CZFERD) received a cash prize of P3,000 as 2nd runner-up.

Three special awards were given during the contest. Ms. Janine Cortiguerra won the “Hugot Queen Award” while Ms. Jamella de Castro received the “Best in Audience Impact Award” and Ms. Karen Fortus got the “Most Photogenic Award”. A consolation prize of P1,000 each was given to the non-winning contestants.

Dr. Marilyn Q. Landicho gave the closing remarks. She thanked all the members of the GADFPS group and the Executive Committee for all the support. Marla V. Cambay, TTD