Once again the Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau (ERDB) joined the Philippine Science Community together with the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) in celebrating the 2017 National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) on July 11, 2017 at the World Trade Center in Pasay City. This year’s theme is “Science for the People”.

The celebration served as an opportunity for the public to understand how science and technology can help in generating livelihood opportunities especially in the countryside.

Dr. Carol M. Yorobe, Undersecretary for S & T Services, DOST and Chairperson, 2017 NSTW Steering committee delivered the welcome remarks. She said, “Through our interactive exhibits, S and T fora, career talks and hands-on demonstrations, we hope that the National Science and Technology Week 2017 will open the eyes of our “kababayans” in the outstanding outputs of the Philippine science and technology in reaching life saving applications to its target beneficiaries”.

Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Secretary Fortunato T. dela Peña introduced the keynote speaker and gave a short message for the occasion. He encouraged everyone to view the exhibits and he said, “May this gathering serve as an opportunity for our supporters to meet and discuss the most pressing issues affecting our science and technology”.

In behalf of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Secretary Benjamin E. Diokno gave the keynote address. In his speech, Sec. Diokno said, “I am pleased that over the last few years, the Science department and the country’s S and T base have become more attentive to the growing needs of its constituents and stakeholders”.

Sec. Diokno further said, “The time has come that we put under the spotlight the transformative and limitless potential of science, technology and innovation and its vast potential for material growth and social development in support of the development imperatives under the administration of President Rodrigo Duterte”.

Awards that were given include the following: Outstanding Young Scientist Awards, Outstanding R & D Award for Applied Research, Outstanding R & D Award for Basic Research, Outstanding Science Administrator Award and the Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award.

Among those present in the occasion were heads of government agencies like Dr. Henry A. Adornado, ERDB Director; President of Universities and Colleges, Senator Cynthia Villar, former DOST secretaries and some members of the diplomatic corps. Marla V. Cambay, TTD