The Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau (ERDB) held a week-long celebration of Sylvatrop’s 40th anniversary at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) central office on June 6-9, 2016 with the theme, “Sylvatrop: 40 years of sharing scientific knowledge on environment and natural resources.”

The week-long event kicked off with the opening of Sylvatrop’s exhibit led by DENR Secretary Ramon Paje at the DENR lobby. The exhibit featured history, facts, and the people behind Sylvatrop. All Sylvatrop issues from 1976 to present were displayed for the visitors to read and get to know the journal. In his speech, Secretary Paje highlighted Sylvatrop as part of the 28 out of the 777 journals that are listed in the Thomson Reuters master list. “It is the Sylvatrop that somehow chronicles the development and environment sector and we really have to support it. I hope other sectors would do the same, other sectors would continue to develop the science in their respective sectors, just like what ERDB is doing,” said Secretary Paje.

During his speech, Secretary Paje also announced that he signed the Memorandum Circular No. 4 – 2016 that will give incentives to the authors, reviewers, and editors of Sylvatrop.

Immediately after the opening of exhibit, Sylvatrop’s forum in scientific publishing was conducted at the DENR Social Hall. Speakers were Sylvatrop Chair Dr. Antonio Daño and Sylvatrop Editor Ms. Adreana Santos-Remo. Dr. Daño talked about publishing in Sylvatrop Journal, discussing the criteria and the dos and don’ts in getting published and abstracted by peer-reviewed journals.

During her talk, Ms. Remo encouraged the participants to contribute their researches to Sylvatrop, pointing out the importance of getting published and abstracted by other journals.

A total of 131 participants from DENR bureaus and attached agencies, namely, Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB), Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau (ERDB), Forest Management Bureau (FMB), Human Resource Development Service (HRDS), Land Management Bureau (LMB), Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB), National Mapping and Resources Information Authority (NAMRIA), and Office of the Secretary (OSEC), attended the said forum.

During the forum, the Sylvatrop website was launched. Sylvatrop Editor Ms. Liberty Asis encouraged the participants to visit the newest online platform which provides access to 472 abstracts of articles published from 1976-2015.

The highlight of the anniversary celebration was the awards ceremony at the Sulo Riviera Hotel on June 8. A total of 160 guests composed of former and present members of Sylvatrop Editorial Board graced the ceremony.

Undersecretary Atty. Jonas Leones gave a message on behalf of Secretary Ramon Paje, talking about the importance of Sylvatrop in terms of providing scientific information about environment and natural resources. He prided how Sylvatrop is recognized by Thomson Reuters and by the local and international circulation. He also emphasized how Sylvatrop evolved through the years by engaging in new strategies, such as hosting writeshops that help authors in writing their researches and the launching of the Sylvatrop website. Before ending his speech, he recognized and congratulated the people behind the journal and encouraged everyone to be part of Sylvatrop in the coming years.

Sylvatrop’s past and present SEB members and representatives, editors, reviewers, authors, subscribers, past executive advisers and chairs, and service awardees were given certificates and plaques to honor their involvement in helping Sylvatrop reach its 40 years of existence.

Among the major awardees include Dr. Leuvina Tandug (3rd place), Dr. Sofio Quintana and For. Manolito Sy (2nd place), Mr. Carlo Custodio (1st place) as top reviewers of Sylvatrop. The top contributors of Sylvatrop were also awarded. Recipients of the award include Dr. Lawrence Heaney (3rd place), Dr. Honorato Palis (2nd place), and Ms. Maria Dayan (1st place).

Plaques were also presented to agencies with the most number of articles contributed to Sylvatrop, namely Siliman University as the 3rd agency to receive the organizational excellence award, Mines and Geosciences Bureau as the 2nd agency to receive the organizational excellence award, and the Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau as the top agency to receive the organizational excellence award. – Marie Joy L. Zuraek, TTD


  • 0101
  • 0202
  • 0303
  • 0404
  • 0505
  • 0606
  • 0707
  • 0808
  • 0909
  • 1010
  • 1111
  • 1212
  • 1313
  • 1414
  • 1515