Dr. Jose Allan Castillo of the ERDB-UBRDEC (Urban and Biodiversity Research Development and Extension Center) receives the certificate of appreciation from ERDB as DOST’s Career Scientist I. Also in photo are: (from left to right) For. Gregorio Santos Jr., UBRDEC Center Head; ERDB Asst. Director Mayumi Natividad-Quintos; ERDB Director Sofio B. Quintana; Dr. Carmelita Villamor, Chief of the Coastal Zone and Freshwater Ecosystem Research Division (CZFERD); Dr. Simplicia Pasicolan, Chief of Urban Ecosystem Research Division (UERD) and Mr. Angelito Exconde, Chief of the Administrative, Financial and Management Division (AFMD).

As ERDB moves into the last quarter of the year, it is the time to assess, recognize and acknowledge the efforts made by its employees. With this year’s theme, “ERDB @ 32: Pagsubok, Pagbabago at Pagtatagumpay” the ERDB’s 32nd Anniversary and Yearend Assessment 2019 was held at the ERDB Auditorium on December 18, 2019.

To officially commence the event, ERDB Director Sofio B. Quintana thanked all the division chiefs for cooperating with him during his one and a half year stay in ERDB. He said, “You will always be in my heart wherever I will be, it is still one ERDB”. ERDB Director Quintana will soon be replaced as the ERDB Director by For. Nonito M. Tamayo of the Forest Management Bureau (FMB). Director Quintana was assigned as OIC Director of the Internal Audit Service (IAS) of the DENR.

ERDB Director Sofio B. Quintana and Asst. Director Mayumi Quintos-Natividad as they unveil the new ERDB logo. Also in photo are the ERDB and Division Chiefs and Center Heads. (photo taken from ERDB facebook page)

The occasion also gave the opportunity to unveil the new ERDB logo. Mr. Juan B. Ebora, Chief of the Technology Transfer Division (TTD) explained that the issuance of the new logo is envisioned to build a long lasting relationship with its partners and clients.

The second part of the program was the giving of distinctive awards to ERDB and research centers’ employees. For RISE (Research Information Series on Ecosystems) which is a publication on relevant information on the propagation and planting techniques of important reforestation species, For. Kevin Olaya and For. Marita W. Briz, from ERDB received the most prolific authors award for the said publication.

Ms. Rowena Payuan from ERDB main office and Dr. Jose Isidro Michael Padin from CRERDEC, Cebu were given special citations for contributing articles to Canopy International which a semi-technical publication of ERDB.

Special citations were likewise given to ERDB and research center employees who have contributed articles to Sylvatrop Technical Journal. The employees were as follows: Mr. Reynaldo Lanuza (CRERDEC, Cebu City), Ms. Rizalita Maningas (ARDEC, Davao City), Dr. Ma. Lourdes Moreno (ERDB), Mr. John Beinrich Zuñiga (ERDB), Mr. Casey Clark (CRERDEC-Cebu City) and Ms. Alma S. Uddin (ARDEC, Davao City).

Ms. Nida Reyes of ERDB received the “Most Senior Employee Award” while Mr. Joel Rafols was awarded the “Most Punctual Employee”. On the other hand, Mr. Ricardo Tanael Jr. got the “Perfect Attendance Award”. The “Most Diligent and Receptive Award” went to Ms. Cristina Apolinar. Ms. Dorilla Cariño was the most dependable employee while Mr. William de Guzman got the “Most Industrious Employee” award.

The Sikap Aral Awards (those who pursued their Masters degrees without any scholarship) were given to the following employees: Lolita Villanueva, Liberty E. Asis, Adreana S. Remo, Vivian Abarro, Jamella de Castro, Girlie Rueda, Jethrone Setenta, Rodrigo Real and Dennis Gilbero.

Likewise, the following DENR Scholars were given certificates of appreciation: Marian Ferrer, Engr. Michael Figuerroa, Eileen Orella, Joselito Sumabat, Veronica Mercado. Dr. Jose Allan Castillo was also awarded for being conferred as Scientist I from 2018-2019.

Lastly, the most responsive research center award was given to the Coastal Resources and Ecotourism Research, Development and Extension Center (CRERDEC). After the awarding ceremony, the oathtaking of ERDBEA (ERDB Employees’ Association) Research Centers’ (RDEC) representatives followed. Marla V. Cambay, TTD